Ask the Expert — Youth Employment Counsellor Steve Boucher

photo of Steven Boucher

"Hi my name is Steven Boucher and welcome to 'Ask the Expert' Q&A column. As a Youth Employment Counsellor from Ottawa's Youth Services Bureau, I've had the pleasure to work with many teens just like you find jobs in what they do best.

So, if you are looking to land a job but don't know where to start, check out the top 5 Questions that I received from youth to help get you started.

For more Q&As, take a look at questions youth have asked me online. Check this out for my posted response."

Top 5 job questions

  1. What do I put on my resume if I have no work experience?

    You would want to keep it simple and focus on the skills that you use on a daily basis.

    At the top of your resume, ensure that you have up-to-date information (contact number, email and home address). Next, you would want an objective. This is where you would let the potential employer know what you want and the traits that you can bring to the job.

    The next section could be your volunteer/community experience. If you've done work experience through a course at school, make note of it here. If you've had odd jobs or done things like babysit or yard work for neighbours, list it here. If at all possible, get letters of reference.

    Next, list course work at school that you feel is relevant to the job. Make note of any academic achievements or awards. Explain how you think your excellent performance in these areas would benefit the employer or enhance your ability to do the job. If you can, get a letter of reference from a teacher of one of the courses you mention.

    List your extracurricular activities of a non-volunteer nature such as sports, church or youth groups, school committees, etc. If you have a position that demonstrates leadership in any of these groups, make note of it here and describe your duties as if they were a job.

    Finally, sell yourself by making a list of your skills, special talents or positive personality traits.

  2. How do I find out if employers are hiring?

    One of the best ways to know if an employer is hiring is to "cold call" them. Cold calling is a term used to apply to job that isn't advertised. All you need to do is wait for a off-peak time and call or walk in to the location that you would like to work.

    Then follow these 4 simple steps:

    1. Ask to speak with the person in charge of hiring.
    2. Introduce yourself and let them know that you are seeking employment.
    3. Hand them a resume and discuss the potential position that they may have.
    4. Be polite and be thankful for their time.

    If there are no positions at that time, do not get discouraged. Instead, ask them to keep your resume on file for any positions that may come up in the near future. When going in person for any job searching, ensure that you dress appropriately.

    Ensure that you get their name and contact information so you can follow up with them in a week.

  3. Do I need a Social Insurance Number to work in Canada?

    Yes. By law, Canadian citizens, newcomers to Canada or temporary residents must have a Social Insurance Number or SIN number to work in Canada or to receive benefits and services from government programs.

    You must provide your SIN to your employer within three days of starting your new job. However, this does not mean you should give your number to anyone. A SIN card is not ID and you are responsible for protecting it. Be sure to store your SIN card in a safe place - don't keep it with you.

  4. As a young worker, am I covered under the Employment Standards Act (ESA)?

    Yes. Examples of part-time positions young workers frequently hold that are covered by the ESA include jobs in retail stores, restaurants and hotels, construction, farming or domestic services.

    Young workers have the same rights as other employees in Ontario workplaces under the ESA.

  5. How much will I be getting paid?

    In Ontario, there are various minimum wages. The general minimum wage that applies to most employees is $10.25/hour.

    If you are a student, minimum wage is $9.60/hour if:

    • you are under the age of 18
    • you work less than 28 hours a week
    • you work when school is in session
    • you work during a school break or summer holiday

    However, if you are a student and work more than 28 hours/week, you get a general minimum wage.

E-mail | Facebook | Youtube

Les cinq grandes questions concernant les emplois

  1. Que devrais-je inclure dans mon curriculum vitæ si je n'ai aucune expérience de travail?

    Tu dois viser la simplicité et mettre l'accent sur les compétences que tu utilises sur une base quotidienne.

    Tu dois t'assurer que tes renseignements sont à jour (numéro de téléphone, courriel et adresse à domicile) et qu'ils sont placés en haut de ton CV. Ensuite, tu dois inscrire un objectif. Autrement dit, laisser savoir à l'employeur potentiel ce que tu recherches et les atouts que tu peux apporter à ton travail.

    La prochaine section peut porter sur ton expérience de bénévolat ou ton expérience dans la communauté. Si tu as effectué un stage à l'école, mentionne-le ici. Si tu as fait des petits travaux, gardé des enfants ou tondu la pelouse des voisins, indique-le aussi. Si c'est possible, obtiens des lettres de recommandation.

    Ensuite, dresse une liste des cours que tu as suivis à l'école et que tu crois pertinents à l'emploi. Prends note des récompenses ou prix que tu y as obtenus. Explique comment tu crois que tes résultats exceptionnels dans ces domaines peuvent bénéficier à ton employeur ou accroître ta capacité de faire le travail. Si c'est possible, obtiens une lettre de recommandation d'un des professeurs qui donne un cours parmi la liste de ceux mentionnés.

    Dresse la liste de tes activités parascolaires de nature non bénévole, par exemple les sports, les groupes jeunesse ou les groupes confessionnels, les comités d'école, etc. Si tu occupes un poste d'autorité dans l'un ou l'autre de ces groupes, précise-le et, tout comme s'il s'agissait d'un emploi, décris tes tâches.

    Finalement, tu dois te mettre en valeur en énumérant tes compétences, tes talents particuliers ou des traits de personnalité positifs.

  2. Comment puis-je savoir si les employeurs sont en période d'embauche?

    L'une des meilleures façons de savoir si un employeur est en période d'embauche est de faire un « appel à froid », autrement dit de postuler pour un emploi qui n'est pas annoncé. Tout ce qu'il faut faire, c'est d'appeler ou de visiter en personne l'endroit où tu aimerais travailler, mais uniquement pendant une période hors pointe.

    Par la suite, suis ces 4 étapes faciles :

    1. Demande à parler à la personne responsable de l'embauche.
    2. Présente-toi et fais-lui savoir que tu es à la recherche d'un emploi.
    3. Donne-lui ton CV et discute avec elle des emplois potentiels qui pourraient être disponibles.
    4. Sois poli(e) et remercie-la d'avoir pris le temps de parler avec toi.

    S'il n'y a pas de poste disponible dans l'immédiat, ne te décourage pas. Demande au responsable de garder ton CV dans ses dossiers au cas où un poste pourrait se libérer à l'avenir. Lorsque tu te présentes en personne lors d'une recherche d'emploi, assure-toi de t'habiller comme il faut.

    Assure-toi d'avoir pris en note le nom et les coordonnées du responsable pour pouvoir effectuer un suivi dans une semaine.

  3. Ai-je besoin d'un numéro d'assurance sociale pour travailler au Canada?

    Oui. La loi exige que tous les citoyens canadiens, les nouveaux arrivants au Canada ou les résidents temporaires possèdent un numéro d'assurance sociale ou un NAS pour travailler au Canada ou pour recevoir les prestations et services des programmes gouvernementaux.

    Tu dois fournir ton NAS à ton employeur dans les trois jours suivant le début de ton nouvel emploi. Par contre, cela ne veut pas dire que tu es obligé de donner ton numéro à n'importe qui. Une carte d'assurance sociale n'est pas une pièce d'identité et tu dois la protéger. Assure-toi de placer ta carte d'assurance sociale dans un endroit sûr et ne la garde pas sur toi.

  4. En tant que jeune travailleur, la Loi sur les normes d'emploi s'applique-t-elle à moi?

    Oui. Parmi le genre d'emplois à temps partiel qu'occupent souvent de jeunes travailleurs et auxquels s'applique la Loi sur les normes d'emploi, mentionnons les emplois dans les commerces de détail, les restaurants et les hôtels, les entreprises de construction, les entreprises agricoles et les services d'aide ménagère.

    En vertu de la loi, les jeunes travailleurs jouissent des mêmes droits que les autres employés des lieux de travail de l'Ontario.

  5. Que sera mon salaire?

    Il existe plusieurs taux de salaire minimum en Ontario. Le taux de salaire minimum général qui s'applique à la plupart des employés est de 11,00 $ l'heure.

    Si tu es étudiant, le salaire minimum est de 10,30 $ l'heure si :

    • tu as moins de 18 ans;
    • tu travailles 28 heures ou moins par semaine;
    • tu travailles pendant l'année scolaire;
    • tu travailles pendant les congés scolaires ou pendant les vacances d'été.

    Par contre, si tu es étudiant et que tu travailles plus de 28 heures par semaine, tu as droit au salaire minimum général.

E-courriel | Facebook